Could You Lose 2 kg by Christmas Day? or How To Give Your Health and Weight Loss Program A Boost,This Festive Season

 

Editor’s note: This post is written to encourage and support anyone who has begun a weight loss journey and is concerned that Christmas and the holiday season might be their downfall! If this is not you, then Happy Holidays anyhow and I hope you enjoy your Christmas cheer! If you yourself have any tips or advice to help those who might still be struggling with weight loss issues then please share them with us all in the comment box. Thanks….

P.S. I have written this post according to the traditons here in Australia where I live. I realise that many of you have just celebrated Thanksgiving too. I hope you enjoyed yourself and perhaps you should read this post after you have recovered!!  Happy Thanksgiving to you anyhow – it sounds like a wonderful tradition!

The Big Question

Could you lose 2 kg by Christmas Day? Of course you could! With exactly one month to go till the big day, a weight loss of 2 kg is definitely achievable, given that the expected and healthy loss for anyone on a weight loss plan or program is about 0.5 kg a week.

Trouble is around this time a lot of people on weight loss journeys start to worry because they know that pretty soon, food is going to be a very big player in every social event and get together. But relax…..really…with a little bit of forward planning and decision-making the ‘food thing’ or our ‘impulse control thing’ does not have to get out of hand.

It does however, take some conscious thought.

Planning Ahead For Parties

First up here’s an idea that a friend shared with me some time ago. I’ve tried it and it works. It’s also extremely simple.

It involves ‘visualising’ (which is basically just creating a mental picture) of the food you know or think will be offered at a particular event and then ‘seeing’ yourself either saying ‘no thanks’ or just shaking your head. By doing this you are creating a conditioned response to the food instead of just reacting to. You are being a ‘mindful eater’ instead of the opposite. All good, so far.

But what about liquid calories? These also need to be taken into account, so choose your drinks carefully and dilute them with soda or mineral water where you can. Or don’t drink at all. There’s a thought!  I know, it is CHRISTMAS ….so go ahead and celebrate, just be mindful of all you consume though and trust me you can still have a great time!

The Real Focus

Christmas really is about sharing and getting together with family and friends. The food is part of the tradition, but it’s not the essence of the day. Good conversation, catching up with the lives of those whom you don’t see often enough and simply sharing some love and laughter can all take place with or without the food. So if you are serious about avoiding a ‘weight loss blowout’ this Christmas try to reflect on the real and important part of the Christmas message and the ‘food thing’ will have far less emphasis for you.

More Tips..

So, we’ve taken care ( at least a little) of those good choices you are going to make at your office party or get together.  Another tip would be to take your own plate. Everyone always appreciates a beautiful healthy fruit platter on the table which is fine to nimble from any time! Similarly, you can bring fish to a barbecue, some low fat snack items from the health food store or anything else that you know is going to prevent a blow out of your daily calorie count.

Forward planning all your snacks and meals is always a great idea when you are on a weight loss plan, but it is even more important now when you may be feeling that temptation is all around you. Stick to what has worked for you already and you’ll be fine!

New Shoes, New Routine, New Energy

This month leading up to Christmas is also a great time to give your exercise routine a bit of a kick in the butt!! Rather than start scaling back your workouts (because you’re going on holidays) why not rev it up a bit!!

 Find some new hills to climb, choose a new machine to use at the gym or just spent an extra 20 minutes a day being active. I’m going to!

While you’re at it, why not visit the shops and treat yourself to some new workout gear? Perhaps a new pair of runners or gym pants. Anything that will give your ‘fitness psyche’ a little pick me up, is helpful.

One More Thought….

Another great idea is to start sourcing some beautiful low fat and low calorie dishes and recipes. There are loads of alternatives to ‘traditional’ dishes out there to try!

Christmas and the holiday season can be a time when you really boost your weight loss efforts if you are willing to. And if you need any further support or just would like someone to tell you what a great job you’re doing (and you probably are!) then don’t hesitate to drop me an email or a comment!

 Love to help, if I can. 🙂

Do you find it hard to stick to your weight loss plan over the holidays? Maybe you’ve already lost weight yourself and understand how others might be feeling?

Perhaps we all should stay mindful of our food choices these holidays whether we are on a weight loss plan or not? What do you think?

Lastly, do you have any great low-calorie recipes for ‘alternative’ dishes for Christmas? Love to have you share them or any other tips or advice you may have….as always love to hear from you. 🙂

 

P.S.If you liked this post please share it !!

14 responses to “Could You Lose 2 kg by Christmas Day? or How To Give Your Health and Weight Loss Program A Boost,This Festive Season

  1. Thanks for your comment on my blog, Mon! You know, when I look at the big picture of the holidays, I can freak, but really, it’s only a few days (total) where it is difficult. I find it very easy NOT to eat at parties and I’m not a big drinker, and I very, very rarely drink when I’m out (alchohol makes me feel groggy right away and I hate that) — so I find that if I take it one event at a time (rather than looking at the big picture), I’m okay. What I find the hardest is that certain foods are only available at this time of year (i.e. fruitcake) so I feel a pressure to enjoy them – but that also can be remedied – I can buy a fruitcake, slice it up and freeze it. So finding ways around the obstacles help me. Another obstacle is inactivity because of lots of visiting – and it’s often quite cold out here so going for a walk is an option, but it’s not easy to find someone to go with…but I try to plan ahead and get my walking/exercise in before the events. And that makes me feel better too.
    D

    • Hi D,
      I like your well thought out plan for the holidays – sounds like you have a few strategies in place to help you. Good on you!
      The inactivity is also something to get around, as you said – I find that music (in my ears) is my best exercise buddy or just the general atmosphere of the gym which really energizes me to do more. I hope you are able get in some exercise when you can. Maybe we can make a pact to exericise every second day (which I do anyhow) – at least then you know that somewhere ‘out there’ someone else is also getting out and focussing on fitness this holidays!! It always helped me in the past to stay accountable to someone or something.
      Anyhow, just an idea that may help…….:) I wish you all the best with your efforts these holidays. It sounds like you have made great progress this year – so congratulations too on that!! Have a great day. Mon 🙂

  2. Lovely articles 🙂 Happy ICLW

  3. What a great blog! I really need to lose weight and was starting to think that I should just give up until after the holidays … but I now think I shouldn’t do that. Good luck! ICLW #89

    • Thanks for your kind comment, Michelle. Don’t give up over the holidays – imagine our great it will be to be ahead of all those people who are going to make New Year’s resolutions about things that you have already gotten a headstart on! Good luck with your plans! And thanks for your great comment. I appreciate you dropping by. 🙂

  4. Very interesting information!I fully agree with you.

  5. That was a awfully helpful post. Thanks for sharing your own strategies for those of us needing aid 🙂

    • Glad you found it helpful! The holidays can be a challenging time, but not if we take some time to strategize our way through the potential obstacles.
      Good luck with your own health and fitness goals and thank you very much for your great comment. 🙂

  6. Hi Monica,

    I really like your visualisation tool. I agree that practicing behaviours helps to imprint them. I can’t tell you how many times I have thought my hand had a life of its own as it kept reaching, over and over, for the nut or crisp bowl. It’s just habit, because after a while I don’t think I even tasted the nuts anymore (I think the salt anaesthetized my tongue). Thanks for you great ideas. I would love to lose 2 kg by Christmas!

    Lisa (ICLW #30 Your Great Life)

    • Your welcome Lisa! I like your thoughts about your hands having a life of its own…..I guess that what defines a habit, when we do things without being mindful of our actions. Glad you found my ideas helpful. Hope they help you handle the food challenges of the holiday season! And thank you very much for your great comment. I appreciate your thoughts. 🙂

  7. Well, I’m definitely not on a weight loss journey… But my tip for anyone trying to lose weight is just to find a physical activity that you enjoy doing and do that! Whether it’s running, rock climbing (what I do), swimming, playing basketball, or yoga, there’s surely something for everyone.

    Good luck to everyone in their weight loss endeavors!

    • Thanks Tristan! I agree with your advice about finding a physical activity you enjoy. I have only gone rock climbing once – without any safety equipment and with just one friend who had only done it a few times himself. It was a bit scary in parts and when I look back on it I think we were a little naive about the ‘how to’s’ of rock climbing! Still we got to the top and it was an exhilarating experience!!
      Thanks for your comment and good wishes to everyone with their weight loss endeavors!