Blogging, The Family Way…or How To Write With Distractions

 

 

Don’t get it right, just get it written
 James Thurber quotes (American Writer, 18941961)

Writing Inspiration

I wrote a few days ago about how positive and supportive people can make a difference to your creativity, your energy and your overall view toward whatever it is you are trying to achieve.

I gotta say I am still relying on that support and still finding it – from friends and family that ask ‘How’s your blog going?’ to people in the blogosphere who reach out and make sincere efforts to assist you. It all helps.

One thing I have come to realise also is that not every post that I (or any blogger ) writes has to be inspirational, motivational or the ‘best post’ I’ve ever written. Why? Because not every blog post can be written whilst you are meditating under an aframe or even while you are completely alone, without a single distraction.

I think sometimes we just need to ‘cut ourselves some slack’ and have faith ourselves and in what we are doing.

If you’re looking for the best post I’ve ever written for example then perhaps it would be this one or this one. Both received positive feedback in the form of comments and improved stats.

Positive Blogging

Although this sort of feedback really pleases me of course and motivates me to write similar posts, being the ‘human’ that I am with multiple distractions and commitments outside of the blogosphere, I have decided that I am not going to put myself under any pressure to duplicate those outcomes. If I did that, I’d probably never write anything.

So instead I will write as honestly and openly as I can, as frequently as I can and about whatever topics that inspire me or motivate me.  That is for me what blogging is really all about. Writing and communication, honesty and sharing – all great tools for learning and self growth.

So today I am musing about the experience of ‘Blog Writing, Set to the Background of Parenthood”. It’s a laugh, I gotta say….

Blog Appreciation, Kids Style…

Whilst one of my kids is quite ‘web savvy’ for her age and actually understands what a ‘blog’ is (she actually has one herself), in contrast, my youngest child is completely ‘blogging nonplussed’, to say the least.  During the writing of my last blog post for example he spent about 1/2 hour chanting the words….”Are you finished yet, are you finished yet…..” in the background. Aaaaahh…..

Needless to say it may not have been the best post I’ve ever written. I’ll let you be the judge, if you want to read it here.

My kids, of course, always come first. Always have, always will, in every way. Rather than use them as an excuse not to write though today, I thought  I would make them a reason to write.

They really do inspire me to write as much as they distract me.

Oooops….Life is Calling

As life, at this present moment of writing, is imitating the content of this post and I have one child loudly sharing that  ‘I have nothing to do….’. I will close this post now with a happy sigh (I got to 600 words this time!) and go and hug my kids.

They are really all that matters !

I would love to hear about your adventures with blogging, a story about your family or whatever you’re happy to share.

I always have time to reply to all comments or answer a question.
And although this blog does not have one of those amazing plug-in things, called Commentluv (where you’re own latest blog post is linked to your comment) feel free to highlight or mention your own latest blog post, so others can see it.

Who needs a fancy plug-in for something we can add ourselves anyhow??? (okay, commentluv is awesome and it probably will come to this blog eventually, but in the meantime…..)

Love to hear from you. 🙂

20 responses to “Blogging, The Family Way…or How To Write With Distractions

  1. I much prefer blogs that are “from the heart” and authentic, written by people who have their priorities nicely ordered. While it sometimes means fewer posts, which makes me sad, it’s nice to know that the writer is taking care of herself and family first.

    • Nice thoughts Cammy – thank you for sharing them! Yes, this is a busy time of year for Moms of kids of all ages. Kids first, blogging second right now….but hopefully I can still keep up at least 3 posts a week. 🙂 As always, thanks for dropping by. 🙂 🙂

  2. I, too, have the voice that tells me every post must be a work of art.

    I put together a page of my posts that are closest to my heart: http://writemindopenheart.com/2010/08/welcome.html

    I’m glad you enjoyed that TED video, too.

    You and your children are beautiful, Mon. 🙂

    • Yes, I think we all must have that ‘little blogger voice’ telling us when and what to write. I think that is great though – but important also to cut ourselves some slack when we need to! 🙂

      Thanks so much for your comment. I will check out that link to your favourite posts, shortly! 🙂 🙂

  3. Happy ICLW! I love your outlook and your blog! I have a humorous weight loss story: i lost about 10 pounds by obsessively counting calories. 10 pounds was a lot for me, even though it sounds like nothing. However, I beacme too obsessed and now have an unhealthy BMI and a new blog: mydustyuterus. So, not sure if I’d be a “success” story, but it sure worked!!

    • Thanks for sharing your story. Yes, I think we do have to stick to a healthy balanced approach to weight loss – as long as you are happy with how you are now though, that’s all that matters!

      Thanks so much for visiting and for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate it! 🙂

  4. Thanks for returning the visit! Eggbeaters are interesting. A quarter cup is equal to one egg and only has 30 calories. They are a bright yellow liquid that magically cook into scrambled eggs or an omelet. “Egg substitute” is one way to describe them. I guess they are kind of disgusting when you really think about what it is you are eating!

  5. i find that i could blog all night, my friends all support my blogging and it is running a close second to my photography as my primary hobby!

  6. I don’t have any family members that distract me from blogging, but I do live in a house with 5 of my buddies, and that is very distracting! I’ve found that I just need to hole myself up in my room and not come out until I’ve produced what I need to produce.

    And yeah, not every post that comes out is going to be the best thing I’ve ever written, but it doesn’t have to be. In fact, I’d be sad if that were the case because it would be off of the front page of my blog and lost in the depths of my archives for ever! One great thing about blogging is that it’s a very forgiving medium; not everything has to be perfect.

    Thanks for the great read, Monica!

    • I imagine your housemates are quite distracting Tristan. Good to see you have a plan for handling it! You are producing heaps of great stuff, so it must be working!
      Thanks as always for your great comment. 🙂

  7. Michelle Buzgon

    I’m finding that blogging is a great antidote to perfectionist editorial tendencies. Every day is a chance to say something new … sometimes profound, sometimes not so much.

    I can so relate to your line about your children, “They really do inspire me to write as much as they distract me.” I think I’m gonna go hug my kids now, too.

    Wishing you a happy, distraction-laden ICLW!
    (#40)

  8. Here from ICLW 🙂 Thanks for stating the real truth that blogging is not a journalist endeavor. It can be, but it doesn’t always have to be riveting and thought-provoking. Sometimes its just sharing. It’s funny how blogging used to be more like public journaling, and now there are communities for blogs and companies who sponsor events among other things. Not that I would have it any other way, but its been an interesting shift. Sending you prayers and best wishes for you and your loved ones.

  9. Loving the new design, great work. Do you think it will always be this way?

    • Thanks for your comments about the new design! Yes, I think it will stay like this for awhile, unless I update/renovate the blog altogether. Will have to wait and see…..thanks so much for your comments. I appreciate your input! 🙂

  10. I am new to the blogosphere and I feel so much lighter after reading this post……glad that you’ve just reiterated my thoughts; it’s not so much about producing that master piece.

    • Welcome to the blogosphere Aj 🙂 I’m so glad the post made you feel lighter about your blogging journey. All the best – I will try and share more information about blogging here, down the track, as I know how mystifying blogging can be when you first start! Best of luck with your blog and thanks for your comment. 🙂