Weight Loss Books and An Extract: from Reframe Weight Loss, The Ebook

 

 

A Piece Of The Whole

As promised today’s post includes a short extract from my e-book. Choosing a section at random, to share here on my blog, however was not as straight forward as I thought.  Some sections of the book go into things quite deeply and extensively (and therefore are quite long) so I didn’t really want to choose them, simply because of the difficulty of shortening them and perhaps losing meaning in the process. Other sections caught my eye, but had many references to issues discussed in earlier parts of the book and therefore would not be easily read as ‘a stand alone’ piece. 

Blog writing and book writing it seems are different. Blog posts shortish and quick (to read), books longish and more absorbing to read.

So in the end I have chosen the following extract, taken from the Author’s Note, at the beginning of the book. Once again, it seems strange (to me) to reprint it here, as a ‘stand alone piece’, as there is so much more that follows it.

However, here it is anyhow. I will quit judging it and just print it!!  Hope you enjoy this brief introduction to my book, Reframe Weight Loss.

….from Author’s Note

…..So often the thoughts people have about weight loss are negative. They think, presume and act as if trying to lose weight will be difficult, slow, hard for them to commit to and so on. 

With thoughts like these, it’s no wonder so many of us fail! How could you ever be successful at something that you (in your subconscious mind at least) are already committed to not achieving? Believe it or not, that is exactly what many of us do. We’ve failed even before we begin!

It’s a fair enough mistake to make however, when we consider that there is such a vast weight-loss ‘industry’ out there, selling and pushing every ‘solution’ from pills and fat-burning agents to detox programs, hypnosis and more. Weight loss must be hard, mustn’t it?

Somehow in that great matrix we call society, teams of ‘experts’ have managed to indoctrinate us so much that we now take it as a ‘given’ that losing weight will be a struggle, and worse that we may not get there without the latest pill, potion or new-found method.

I believe this thinking to be erroneous!

I too was once caught up by such theories, but through a lot of self-education and firsthand experience I have learnt to think differently.

I now know that there is a more inspired and freeing weight-loss path to follow, and that weight loss is not just about the physical aspect of yourself.

It is also about enhancing and healing the many parts of you that are crying out for you to listen to them. It is about learning, growing, changing and ultimately getting to your goal and staying there….

Extracts and Novels

So that’s it. A short extract, plucked from the pages of a 30,00 word book! As I said, blogging and book writing are different.

Throughout a book you have time to engage with you the reader more closely, exploring and expanding on different issues in-depth. In contrast, a blog post doesn’t allow for that kind of engagement. 

For that reason, I am thinking that I may not share too many more ‘extracts’, although I would love to!  Perhaps I could summarise sections instead of simply posting an extract.  Mmmm, yes I’ll definitely have to give that some thought!!

Okay, so enough of my musings today.  I hope this short extract I have shared has opened a small window to the tone and style I have taken in the book.

I must say too that I really enjoyed writing Reframe Weight Loss, as it gave me the opportunity to ‘travel the journey’ again, this time through more enlightened eyes!!

What They’re Saying

Oh and before I go I thought I’d share some feedback from a reader who (after my request for her responses to my book) sent me this recommendation the other day, via email.

Here goes (thanks Fiona!):

This book is more than just a good read. Monica has a real voice, which she uses to share her innermost thoughts and frustrations on her own weight-loss journey. In doing so, she keeps the reader feel strongly motivated because you can see that she has been through the struggle to lose weight and keep it off herself. It’s enjoyable to read as a book in its own right even without the goal of losing weight.”

I was so pleased to get Fiona’s feedback and to know that I had achieved what I set out to do, that is to help someone out, on their weight loss journey.

I will continue to try to do that and I hope you may also be someone whom I can help.

Ciao and thanks for reading!!  See you back here next time 🙂

2 responses to “Weight Loss Books and An Extract: from Reframe Weight Loss, The Ebook

  1. Your e-book definitely sounds inspiring. I love what you say about changing the way we view weight loss. It’s so true that we start almost expecting to fail.