The New Miracle Weight Loss Method, That I Don’t Like!

 

Okay, so you don’t have to resort to this to lose weight. I mean come on!!! What next? Let’s just chop our fingers off, so we can’t pick up any food or maybe we could just sew up our mouths altogether, for a while.

Sometimes, I think the world has gone crazy!!

The Quick Fix

Why is it that changing your eating habits and getting more exercise seems to becoming the less chosen option? Especially when any extrinsic method applied or caused by the intervention of a doctor is only going to have short-term effects at their very best?

 Admittedly these interventions are mostly a last resort choice and I am sure many who end up taking this road have tried traditional weight loss methods previously. At least I hope so.

Apart from the lack of effectiveness in the long-term (unless exercise and healthy eating become part of the patient’s overall lifestyle plan) the complications and side effects from these types of procedures are far more unpleasant and significant than is often publicized.

A Story

Recently I was privy to a conversation with another author who has penned her experiences with lap band surgery. One of her stories has stuck in my mind ever since.  It was graphic, a little disturbing and very unpleasant.

So I thought I’d share it. Yes, nice of me, I know.

May I suggest at this point, that if you happen to be eating as you read this, that you either stop reading or put the food away just for a minute. You’ll thank me later.

Anyhowwww…..basically my friend described the fact that following her surgery she still frequently craved packeted chips (or crisps as they are called in some parts of the world) specifically tomato flavoured ones.

One night coming home on the train, she could no longer control her urges and decided to purchase a packet, even though she knew that her new ‘stomach’, (the surgically shrunk one) didn’t really tolerate acidic or salty food anymore. At all.

Only trouble was her new surgically altered gastrointestinal system had not communicated this fact to her non surgically altered taste buds (I don’t think the tongue mutilation thing had been invented then) and so, she indulged.

Losing Her Dignity

This is where it gets messy. Very. Yes, you’ve guessed it. She vomited. And vomited. All over herself. Her clothes. Her handbag. The seat she was sitting on. She had no control. And being on a train, going home from work, there was no refuge in the form of a bathroom or toilet.

She just had to wipe it off herself with tissues, feeling mortified, ashamed and stripped of every vestige of dignity and self-respect.

Now I know this is an unpleasant little tale and I’m sorry if I’ve made you squeamish but somehow when I read about the tongue mutilation procedure and realised they were for real, I thought I had to write something here that would be a reality check for anyone who may have ever been tempted to do something similar.

Call it my little protest. Or something.

A Better Way

Anyhow, if you read here regularly or have in the past, then you will know that I advocate a method far more respectful of the human condition than any of the options I’ve talked about above. What I advocate is a method that transforms your heart and mind first and then your body and your behaviours. In my book, Reframe Weight Loss, I call it ‘The You Method’.

It is simpler, far more effective and a darn sight more positive, pleasant and joyful than attacking parts of your precious body and destroying them.

You are a magnificent creation. Believe that. Respect that. And you will have begun in a small but significant way the creation of the ‘new you’.

What are your thoughts on weight loss intervention methods, whether they be the proverbial ‘diet pill’ or something more drastic like I have just described? Have you had any experiences that you’d like to share, maybe to help prevent others from making a similar mistake? Or maybe you are pro weight loss surgery and similar techniques?

Why do you think people resort to these options? Have you ever been tempted?

2 responses to “The New Miracle Weight Loss Method, That I Don’t Like!

  1. Michelle Buzgon

    I like your approach to weight loss. I’ve watched my mom do some of those horrible fad diets (I think she’s doing one right now, actually), and I vowed never to lose weight that way. Believing in yourself is the foundation of everything, including weight loss.

    Michelle – ICLW #15