Achieving Weight Loss Through A Healthy Respect For Your Body

 

Life outside of the blogosphere has been a little busy for me lately, so my post here today will be kind of brief (at least I’ll try to keep it that way, however no matter how I try, I never seem to meet that goal of staying ‘brief’. What can I say, I love talking!).

Anyhow first up I just want to say thanks to the people who commented last week and congratulations to Talitha from pursuittoflagom.blogspot.com who won a free copy of Reframe Weight Loss. The book is soon to be shipped further into cyberspace and soon will be reaching a number of online retailers. So congratulations Talitha and safe travelling to my ebook!

Some Food For Thought

Apart from the above news, the other snippet I thought I’d share today is an extract from a book called The Power of Intention. I came across the particular paragraph by accident and immediately thought of sharing it here, due to it’s relevance and hopefully usefulness, to those of you on your weight loss journeys.

I have paraphrased it a little but basically here is the paragraph as taught by Wayne Dyer. It is taken from a section in his book on self respect, specifically on respecting your body.

Respecting Your Body

“Regardless of it’s size, shape, colour or any imagined infirmities, you have been provided with a perfect body to house your true self….

You don’t need to work at being healthy; health is something you already have if you don’t disturb it. You may have disturbed your body by overfeeding it, under exercising it, overstimulating it with toxins or drugs, that make it sick, fatigued, jumpy, anxious, bloated or an endless list of maladies.

However you can begin to live a life of self respect for your body anytime. You know what to do. You don’t need a new diet, a personal trainer or another workout manual. Go within, listen to your body and treat it with all the dignity and love that your self respect demands.”

I hope these few thoughts from Wayne Dyer give you some food for thought today. Take care of yourself and hope to see you back here in the blogosphere soon.

What are your thoughts on the idea of health being something you already have if you don’t disturb it? Does this resonate with you? Do you have any thoughts about the book, The Power of Intention, that you would like to share?

6 responses to “Achieving Weight Loss Through A Healthy Respect For Your Body

  1. As someone with a genetic disease, I am in awe of my body and what it is able to do in the midst of the other things going on inside of it. I appreciate my body, try to keep it as healthy as I can and I hope it will continue to serve me well for years to come.

  2. This bit really makes sense to me. “You don’t need to work at being healthy; health is something you already have if you don’t disturb it. You may have disturbed your body by overfeeding it…” My health has actually been quite disturbed lately and it merits looking at what I have done to cause that situation. Thanks for a new perspective.

  3. I agree to some extent- I feel like we shoudl respect our bodies more than we do. Giving it crap and treating it badly and hating it as we as women so often do is horrible. Good food for thought!

    ICLW

  4. I think this definitely resonates with me. I know I have the power to be healthier and I would like to get back there too. Thanks for this post! Happy ICLW! (#72 & 106)

  5. Pingback: Tongue Mutilation, The New Miracle Weight Loss Method – I Have An Easier Way! | Musings Of An Everyday Weight Loss Guru