From The Blogosphere To The Beach or Why I’m Not Blogging This Week

 

I am not sure I should publish today’s post.  I mean, some one might read it. And someone might ridicule a blog post on the topic of er….not blogging. As well they may, because there certainly is a distinct irony in writing a post about why you’re not writing a post.  But never mind, here it goes anyhow….

A Badge of Blogging Silence

Call me weird ( I heard that !) but sometimes I just like a little silence in my life. A little solitude and reflection. A little time to just be. I know I’m not alone in this desire. It’s the reason that we all enjoy, every now and again, an escape to somewhere where routine just doesn’t exist. To a place where it doesn’t matter if  you’re late for a meeting (‘cos there are none) or you get the kids to school late (‘cos there is none) or if any of the other expectations or activities (basically called life) are not met or carried out…..

It is that deep longing for silence and peace that beckons us and leads us to somewhere ‘quiet’. It is why young surfers sit on their boards after sunset, long after the best waves are gone. Why mothers of young children hide away in the smallest room in their house.  And it is why I am not blogging, this week.

Finding ‘somewhere quiet’ is Australia usually means a trip to the beach. Which is where I am right now. Waves crashing and rolling only metres in front of me. A view of the beach and the ocean my only vision, apart from the screen in front of me, which I will soon close.

Eat, Pray, Love

So that, in  brief, is why I’m not blogging this week.  That and because I have my head buried in a little book called EAT, PRAY, LOVE (subtitled, One Woman’s Search For Everything). 

You may have heard of it.

I was going to say that I am totally absorbed by this book, but that would probably not even hit the mark. Totally sucked into a ‘reading vortex’ is probably a more accurate description. I love this book. It has totally absorbed me.  I won’t turn this post into a review of it, but I will share with you one excerpt that stood out for me, as I pondered what or whether I would blog today.

Several ideas had crept into my mind as I thought of writing today. Quite a few actually. As they usually do before I write, these ideas swirled around my head. Yeah, that sounds okay, I reply to a few of the ideas that stand out the most. I could research this ….and then, I could write about A,B or C…. Yes, that could be good.

Yet somehow, I just didn’t want to disturb my new-found peace that much to really flesh out my ideas into the form of a blog post. I just wanted to be still. And quiet. Yet my mind still nagged me to write a post.

So, to distract myself, I picked up my latest absorption and two paragraphs into the book, I read this:-

“Learning how to discipline your speech is a way of preventing your energies from spilling out of you through the rupture of your mouth, exhausting you and filling the world with words, words, words instead of serenity, peace and bliss.”

So that was it. I was not writing a blog post today. Not one word.

But I will next week . No doubt by then my words will be spilling out of me, through the rupture of my mouth (or this keyboard) , but for now….I am on retreat. In blogging silence. I don’t know that this will necessarily fill the world with serenity, peace or bliss, but from this end of the blogosphere, things will be okay.

I may be on a temporary blogging hiatus, however I would still love to hear your comments. How do you find a ‘quiet space’ in your life? Do you need it? Long for it? Does having ‘a little time out’ restore your energies or creativity? Or maybe you get too much silence? Maybe connection and people are what you long for most? Or maybe, you’d just like to share how your day has been. I would love to hear about it.

I will be back blogging again, next week. I think I will miss the blogosphere too much if I take any more time off. It’s a pity cool place 🙂

18 responses to “From The Blogosphere To The Beach or Why I’m Not Blogging This Week

  1. Have a nice retreat! Silence is golden for a reason. 🙂

  2. I love getting away for a while – just focusing on family, friends & myself – it’s healing!

  3. I absolutely 100% LOVE that book. It’s one of my all time favorites. In fact, I read it three times in one year because I love it so much.

    My quiet place is my craft room. I sit in there, listen to some relaxing music (usually Counting Crows) and I bead. It’s like it’s own sort of zen and I find myself pretty much meditating while working in there.

  4. Hello from ICLW! Ahhh, the beach–such a great place to be! My quiet place IS the beach—actually a very specific beach–where I grew up going with my family. My grandparents have a dock off the back of their house, and that is “my place”
    Enjoy the rest of your time away!

  5. It is truly a fabulous book. I can understand the combination of the beach and a good book taking you away from the blogosphere for a bit.

    Honestly, right now there isn’t a whole lot of peace and quiet in my life. I have 3 very active boys and that doesn’t lend itself towards quiet. My crafts (how I would love a craft room) are my form of escapism…that and reading. I can disappear into another world when I read.

    ~ICLW #18

  6. Thanks for the informative article, it was a good read and I hope its ok that I share this with some facebook friends. Thanks.

  7. I hope you are enjoying your retreat and your book!!

    Happy ICLW
    #100

  8. Hi, and thank you for your kind words on my blog.

    With a very active/busy toddler, I long for quiet times. I only get those when he naps and even then, that time usually is used up by “things to do.” I would love to have access to a beach to have a few moments of peace. Alas no beach near me.

    I enjoyed the book as well. My favorite part was the eating part. As for the “praying” part, I could relate to her struggles to quiet her mind.

    Hope you enjoy your quiet retreat.

    Oh, and as for the Yogi Tea, it’s a brand of teas that are available here in the US (http://www.yogiproducts.com/)

    And if you don’t want to “lost” my blog, just added it to your blogroll or RSS feed. 😉

  9. I hope you enjoyed the beach and the book!

    ICLW