The Power of Motivational Books – Unwrapping Our Weight Loss Potential and More

Three Cheers For Cyberspace

Hi there! So nice to be back in touch with you here in the blogosphere after my brief vacation from blogging. Don’t get me wrong, I do love the real world too (most of the time!), but cyberspace is also a great ‘place’ to spend some time, too.  Isn’t it? I think so. What about you?

Anyhoozie, I hope you’ve had a productive week and that you are making good progress with any lifestyle changes or goals you may have been working on. If not, fear not.  There’s a little book called REFRAME WEIGHTLOSS coming out soon, that might just help !

Perhaps a little rekindling of your motivation is just what you need and indeed that is exactly what I aim to provide in REFRAME WEIGHTLOSS.  The book has recently been given a few extra inclusions and I’m pleased to say I am now also making good progress with the technical side of it all (producing an ebooks requires a little bit of techie knowledge, so it has been a steep learning curve for me, a non-techie).

Some Personal Development

Anyhow, apart from further developing my own manuscript this past week, I have also been spending a little time reading and studying some very absorbing personal development books. I looove all those books. I particularly enjoy the way my thinking enlarges and changes when I study them. Sometimes I just can’t get my nose out of them!

So today I thought I’d briefly share some of the messages in a book called The 8th Habit, by Stephen Covey, an enthralling read and one I highly recommend to you, if you can get your hands on a copy. I readily admit to only reading certain sections of it, as it really is a book to be studied, rather than just read, but even those few sections were moving and motivating for me. The human model he describes is valid for all of us and yes, it can also be applied to the challenges we face with weight loss.

The Book Review

Basically, Covey talks about our unwrapped ‘birth gifts’ (the notion of having been given certain ‘gifts’ at birth was, I thought, very beautifully described and conveyed). He mentions these as being our four ‘capacities’ or ‘intelligences’ – those in the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual arenas and he then goes on to describe the significance of each.

Somehow just by reading, I become well aware of some of my own ‘birth gifts’ and to the extent that I have been using or not using them, till now. It was exciting stuff!  It appears however, that I have been wasting a fair few of them!

Covey also talks of the great leaders of the world – Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Nelson Mandela and several others (personally, I think he should include himself in the list ) and as we read, we begin to realise that these are people who certainly did unwrap and use their birth gifts.

He talks also of ‘finding your voice’ in the world (through finding your own purpose and following down the path of what excites and inspires you) and then by inspiring others to find theirs. This he suggests is how we can all discover ‘ our real reason for being here.’

Our Untapped Potential

Covey’s book is an inspiring and captivating read. A much fuller description of his teaching is beyond the scope of this particular post, however, I do hope I have conveyed to you some of the underlying tenets of his message.

Basically it is this – each one of us has a huge well of untapped and unused potential, given to us at birth. How we utilize and expand that potential is up to us. We can squander what we have been given or we can take a leap of faith and use and develop every bit of every talent, skill, drive or creative desire, we have.  It’s up to us.

Reach For The Stars

At the moment, in my life, I am aiming to take the second option. What about you? Would you like to jump on board with me, to try something new, do something different too? There’s a little axiom that comes to mind here as I write, which says ‘Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land amongst the stars’.  I like that one – it reminds me to always aim higher than I might be otherwise be tempted to. To get out of my comfort zone. To embrace change instead of fearing it.  To have faith that I will reach my goals, however lofty they may seem.

As you can see, Stephen Covey’s book has had a big impact on me! And if you have the time, I do recommend you have a look at it too. It’s not a light read and perhaps some of you may question whether it’s message is applicable to your own personal situation or not.  Whatever your initial thoughts, bear in mind that this is a book that has affected millions of lives all over the planet.  I can’t believe that it has taken me this long to get a copy myself !

So, do you think it’s time for you to unwrap your birth gifts?   I’d love to hear if it is.  Please feel free to share any other ideas or thoughts you may have about this topic or perhaps about your own particular gifts or talents. I would love to hear about them.

Thanks for reading today dear friends. You are very welcome to visit here anytime and thanks for being a part of our humble community. It’s really good to have you on board!

Till next time….take care,

hugs,

Mon

 

 

Comments are closed.