Five Good Things About Weight Loss – How To Stay Focused on The Good Stuff and Lose Weight

A Positive Focus

Good morning, evening or afternoon, whatever it is in your world, I hope it’s good !  Often here I talk about the times we are presented with ‘food overload’ opportunities and offer you lovely readers some tips on overcoming your impulses during those times.  So today I just thought I’d give you some feedback on a recent occasion I attended where the food temptress (some call “coconut ice”) was making an appearance.

So my news is that a good time was had by all at our school fete, without a binge or overload of coconut ice or any other problematic foods.  I had kebabs and rice for lunch, a cup of tea and one low cal cola drink for snacktime.  Okay, okay…. I pinched some hot chips (only 2) from my kids chip bucket.  Venial sin. No penance.  I say so!!

Anyhow, enough of my ramblings and onto today’s post, which is basically about finding the good….in life and/or with a problematic waist lines. 

Your Mental and Emotional State

So, what’s so great about being 20 kg overweight I hear you ask ?? Or 10 or 5 ??  Seems like a miserable, undesirable place to be in, doesn’t it?  Must get out of here.  Move on.  Lose the weight.  Buy nicer clothes. Feel better.

Nothing wrong with all that of course, except that is, if you’re putting off ‘feeling good’ until you reach these goals.  In which case, they might just take a little longer to achieve!!  Feeling good and staying positive, inspired, confident and happy are all desirable and attainable states to remain in as you move toward your goal. 

 In fact, I would totally recommend staying in these states as often as you can. It accelerates weight loss (no scientific data to back that one up, but I know it’s true).

The 5 Good Things – Getting Your Psychology Back on Track

You can get yourself back on track mentally anytime you choose.  And once you do, you can stay there by practicing one simple task. This is it – everyday, set aside some time to make a list of 5 good things that happened to you  that day.  They can be as simple as receiving a telephone message from a person you enjoyed hearing from or the fact that your car started this morning or well, I‘ll let you add the details.  Stay on task until you’ve gotten to 5 good things!  It won’t be hard.

The Unhealthy Alternative

We all do have a tendency to at times to only notice the negatives and to only see the things that are not as we want them to be.  Apart from this being a vast waste of our mental potential, it also doesn’t make you happy.  Weight loss will come (if you are doing all the right things).  It takes time, though.

So what will you do in the meantime then? Are you going to spend every day until then, bemoaning your predicament??  Or are you going to retrain that errant wandering mind , to help it to see the light or at least to turns it’s face in that general direction? 

The Ego’s Pull

If it makes you feel better (and after all that’s what this post is about) you can blame a pesky little thing called Ego, for your inability to see the good that surrounds you.  Your ego (that internal voice, that begins most sentences with “I”) can be the cause of much unrest, with it’s constant reference to all your imperfections and to everything that’s missing in your life.   

So switch off your Ego’s voice.  YOUR the one in charge, now. Let it know that. You’re well aware of the things you need to change and you’re on to it, but in the meantime, you’re also going to enjoy and treasure every single moment of your life!!

Have a great day weight loss achievers……drop me a comment if you’d like to share your particular 5 good things.  I’d love to hear them.  I’m off to make my own list….

Peace,

Mon

Comments are closed.