Weight Loss and The Food Marketing World – How To Beat Them At Their Game and Lose Weight

The Energy of Words, A Few Reflections

I love words.  Being a blogger and writer, words are kind of my thing.  Sometimes finding the right ones to express what you want to convey however, is not easy, especially in this world of quick, fast message sending.  Sometimes meaningful discourse is just not possible this way, especially when the short ‘sound bites’ we send out do not include the face to face co-communicators of facial expression, body language or voice tone (as with txt, twitter, email, etc…).

Some experts say that in communicating in this way and failing to include true emotion in much of what we communicate, we are damaging rather than the building foundations for good relationships.

Of course we’re all getting good at fixing that problem with the inclusion of emoticons and other such symbols to convey our feelings. 🙂 Nothing wrong with that. 🙂 🙂

The Influence of Words and Your Food Choices


Anyhow all this reflection about words and communication has led me to notice the types of words used by marketers and manufacturers of certain food products. Recently, on one box of ice creams (single serves) I noticed all of the following words – heart, golden, heavenly, indulgent and perfect. All of these words described the moments you would feel or experience if you ate one of the above said ice creams.

Being the food detective that I am, I then looked at the nutritional label and saw the real facts. How many of us would still be drawn to perhaps a plain box (no pictures, no attractive illustrations) with the words – regret, 400 calories, high sugar, high fat, little nutritional value?

No positive emotion conveyed there and quite possibly, no ice creams sold.

Of course marketers know this and have become extremely adept at capturing our attention and manipulating our choices.  Whilst I admire their clever creativity, I know it’s all hype and rather than fall prey to their cause, I prefer, these days, to debunk their marketing hype, even as I read it. It’s kind of a habit now, but a good one and kind of fun.
I know in reality that the sugar marketeers can not improve my day or make me feel good, in any way shape or form.  Only I can do that.

I could also include in this dissection of food marketing all the ‘feel good’ banter perpetuated by fast food chains and the like, but please don’t get me started on the ‘ Big hamburger chain family dinner boxes’..

Perhaps you’d also like to take some time today to reflect upon your position in this world of marketing and persuasive dialogue.  Why not join me as a ‘food detective’?  Maybe I could start a club… at the very least we all could become that little bit more aware of what this 21st century is doing to us (if we let it).

I also give you permission to feel good about yourself, anytime you like…. without the ice-cream moment.

You are, no doubt, a beautiful, intelligent and capable person (who doesn’t need ice-cream to be so).

Hugs,

Mon

Comments are closed.